For content relevant to your community in Ontario, Please select your region

Woman using an iPad

Winston Gordon Award of Excellence in Accessible Technology

Main Content

The Winston Gordon Award of Excellence in Accessible Technology recognizes an individual or group who has made significant technological advances benefiting people with sight loss.

The award is named for Hamilton, Ont., industrialist and entrepreneur Winston Graham Gordon. A longtime CNIB volunteer who lost his sight in childhood, he was a champion of advancement in technical devices to help people who are blind. 
The Winston Gordon award is a $10,000 cash prize.

Who is eligible?

This international recognition may be presented to an individual, group or organization, including inventors, designers, corporations and academic institutions, or suppliers of goods and services.

The nominated device must:

  • Be available in Canada now
  • On the market for one year at time of nomination
  • Have a documented benefit to people who are blind or partially sighted

Nominations and selection process 

Nominations are now closed. Check back here for updates. 

Past recipients

  • 2015 – MIPsoft, Finland (BlindSquare)
  • 2013 – Humanware, Canada (Victor Stream)
  • 2010 – RNIB Products and Publications Service, UK (Penfriend audio labeler)
  • 2008 - Software Express, UK (Guide software)
  • 2005 – Polara Engineering Inc., USA (Navigator II)
  • 2004 – Brytech Inc. (talking bank note readers)
  • 2003 – Pulse Data International, NZ (BrailleNote)
  • 2002 – Visuaide Inc., Canada (Victor Reader Pro)
  • 2001 – Tecso, Canada (interactive tutorial series)
  • 2000 – Henter-Joyce Inc., USA (JAWS for Windows)
  • 1999 – Ocutech Inc., USA (Ocutech VES-Autofocus Telescope System)
  • 1998 – National Federation of the Blind, USA (Newsline for the Blind)
  • 1997 – Innoventions Inc., USA (Magni-Cam)
  • 1996 – Syntha-Voice Computers Inc., Canada (Window Bridge)
  • 1995 – Joseph E. Sullivan, USA (Duxbury Braille Translator)
  • 1994 – Raymond Kurzweil, USA (Reading Edge)
  • 1993 – Caratech, Austria (ColorTest)
  • 1992 – Telesensory Inc., USA (Vista)
  • 1991 – WGH Educational Foundation, USA (Descriptive Video Service – DVS)
  • 1990 – Robotron Pty Ltd., Australia (Eureka A4)
  • 1989 – Blazie Engineering, USA (Braille ‘n’ Speak)