notice

For content relevant to your community in Ontario, Please select your region

A graphic art illustration of three people walking down a city sidewalk. One icon has a white cane and is accompanied by a person who is providing sighted guide. To the right of them is an icon of a woman pushing a shopping cart. The woman is entering a storefront.

Accessible Communities

Main Content

The ability to access and enjoy your own community is essential for everyone. Engaging in the many things that our local neighbourhoods offer is vital for the overall wellbeing of all community members, including people who are blind or partially sighted. When places are inaccessible and lack a sense of inclusiveness, everyone misses out. 

For many people who are living with sight loss, businesses and community spaces can be inaccessible because of the built environment, attitudes of customer service representatives and policies and procurement practices. These barriers have become even more evident since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic. 
 
We are launching our first Accessible Community Engagement Campaign to help support local organizations make easy and minor adjustments that can make a huge difference to people who are blind or partially sighted 

Get Involved 

We are looking for volunteers and community advocates from across the country to come together and join us in calling on local businesses and governments to create accessible community spaces, shopping, built environments and to remove barriers created by the COVID-19 pandemic. 

If you are passionate about accessible community engagement, making positive changes with local businesses and governments and would like to learn more about the campaign and how to get involved, please contact the representative in your region at the bottom of the page. 

Information for organizations

Please visit our dedicated accessibility resources webpage for information on making your organization accessible to people who are blind or partially sighted. 

Local Accessible Community Engagement Leads

Alberta

Amber.Dujay@cnib.ca

British Columbia

Tommy.Leung@cnib.ca 

New Brunswick

Debbie.Jeffery@cnib.ca

Newfoundland and Labrador

Kimberlie.Hart@cnib.ca

Nova Scotia

Shelley.Adams@cnib.ca

Manitoba

Vivi.Dabee@cnib.ca

Ontario

GTA: Neisha.Mitchell@cnib.ca

Ontario East: Kate.Riccomini@cnib.ca

Ontario North: Tanis.Boardman@cnib.ca

Ontario West: Bernard.Akuoko@cnib.ca

Quebec

Catheryne.Houde@inca.ca

PEI

Joanne.Hamel@cnib.ca

Saskatchewan

Amanda.Titman@cnib.ca