CNIB Chanchlani Global Vision Research Award

The CNIB Chanchlani Global Vision Research Award was established in 2011 with the goal of encouraging world researchers in the area of vision science and vision rehabilitation. The award is consistent with the goals of CNIB (Canadian National Institute for the Blind) of conducting and funding world-class research to reduce the impact of sight loss in people’s lives. The award will be given to vision scientists anywhere in the world who have made a major original contribution to the fields of vision science or vision rehabilitation.

Nomination process:

The nominations will be evaluated by the CNIB Research Committee, a group of eminent Canadian vision scientists, clinicians and vision rehabilitation practitioners. The evaluation process will depend heavily on the quality of the information provided in the nomination process. For this reason we ask that the information provided be accurate and detailed and honestly reflect the individual’s accomplishments.

Terms of the award:

  1. The CNIB Chanchlani prize will be value​d at $25,000.
  2. The prize is given for the personal use of the recipient.
  3. The award will be to an individual recipient. There will be no shared prizes.
  4. The prize winner may be a resident of any country.
  5. All necessary travel expenses will be provided in order for the prize recipient to travel to Canada to receive the award and to present their research.

Nominations may be made by anyone knowing the potential recipient well. This may include the potential recipient his/herself, and should include the following:

  1. A description (1000 words or less) of the nominee’s contribution to the field of vision science or vision rehabilitation, and how their work has advanced the field.
  2. It is assumed that all nominees will have a significant resume of peer-reviewed publications. For this reason, we are asking that only the five most important publications be identified and be provided as part of this nomination. Do not provide a full bibliography.
  3. Two letters of support from colleagues describing the importance of the nominee’s work. Please include contact information for these colleagues.
  4. A brief curriculum vitae listing the nominee’s current full position, business address, telephone number and e-mail address. A description of major awards received and named lectures given would be useful. Please do not include a full bibliography or presentations given.
  5. Nominations will not be kept for future years, but rejected nominees may re-apply annually.

Deadline for nominations:

To be announced.

Please send nominations to:

Shampa Bose
Research Coordinator
1929 Bayview Avenue
Toronto, ON M4G 3E8

Please send nominations by email to:

Past recipients:

2015: Dr. Robert S. Molday, Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Life Sciences Institute, University of British Columbia

2014: Dr. Jayakrishna Ambati, Professor of Physiology and Professor and Vice Chair of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, University of Kentucky

2012: Dr. King-Wai Yau, Professor of Neuroscience and Ophthalmology at Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland

2011: Dr. Hugh Taylor, University of Melbourne, Australia