Hadley Distance Education

Upgrade Your Skills with Free Distance Education Courses from the Hadley School for the Blind!

The Hadley School for the Blind, in Winnetka, Illinois, offers more than 100 distance education courses, completely free of cost, to individuals with vision loss and their families all over the world.

Hadley partners with many national and international organizations, including CNIB, to ensure that their courses reach as wide an audience as possible.

Who can enroll in a Hadley course?

  • Anyone living with vision loss, age 14 or older
  • Relatives and health-care providers of someone living with vision loss
  • Staff and volunteers of CNIB who are interested in upgrading their professional skills, or learning new ones

What courses are available?

Hadley offers courses on a wide variety of topics from business, health and recreation to practical daily-living skills.

  • Academics (English, math, history etc.
  • Access technology
  • Chess
  • Child Development
  • College Preparation
  • Cooking
  • Financial Planning
  • Independent Living
  • Internet Basics
  • Macular Degeneration (AMD)
  • Parenting Skills
  • Small Business Management
  • Word Processing

How do I take a class?

Course materials arrive either by mail, in the format of your choice, or you can download them online from the Hadley School website onto your computer.

If you have questions or feedback while you’re studying, you can talk to your instructor via email, or by using a toll-free 1-800 number that will be provided to you when you enroll.

Once you have completed your course, you will receive a Certificate of Achievement.

How do I register for a course?

There are two ways to sign up for a course through the Hadley School. You can enroll online by visiting the Hadley website at www.hadley.edu, clicking on their “Admissions” link and following the instructions.

Or you can contact a Hadley-CNIB Ambassador at a CNIB office near you for more information (see below).

Hadley-CNIB Ambassadors

These Ambassadors are CNIB staff who are well-acquainted with Hadley’s curriculum, procedures and faculty, who can answer your questions and guide you through the registration process.

British Columbia & Yukon:

Lynn Jensen
Tel: 604-431-2121
Email: lynn.jensen@cnib.ca

Alberta, NWT, Nunavut:

Nicol Stone
Tel: 780-488-4871
Email: nicol.stone@cnib.ca

Saskatchewan & Manitoba:

Dan Vodon
Tel: 204-727-0631
Email: dan.vodon@cnib.ca

Ontario:

Richard Marsolais
Tel: 613-563-4021 ext. 5029
Email: richard.marsolais@cnib.ca

Quebec:

Pascale Roy
Tel.: 514-934-4622 ext. 223
pascale.roy@cnib.ca

Atlantic Canada:

Dinah Durnford
Tel: 709-639-9167
Email: dinah.durnford@cnib.ca

Lynne Fraser-Goodwin
Tel: 506-857-4240
Email: lynne.fraser-goodwin@cnib.ca​​​​